Site Home What's On
Sandal Magna Battle of Wakefield Nevison The Highwayman Wakefield City Wakefield District Further Afield
Links - General CHARLES WATERTON Book Shelf
Overtown Miscellany - City of Wakefield
 site search by freefind  

 Navigate the principal Wakefield City pages by using the 'Related Pages' menu on the right.

Wakefield The Bull Ring, Wakefield, West Yorkshire,

The city is situated on the River Calder and is on the eastern edge of the Pennines. Wakefield was dubbed the "Merrie City" in the Middle Ages.

It was formerly the county town of the West Riding and, when that was abolished, it became the county town of West Yorkshire Metropolitan County from 1974 to 1986. Now Wakefield is one of the five metropolitan districts in West Yorkshire, the others being Bradford, Calderdale (Halifax area), Kirklees (Huddersfield area), and Leeds..

After West Yorkshire Metropolitan County Council was abolished in 1986, power was devolved to the five district councils. Some council functions including archive services and trading standards continued to be provided jointly, through West Yorkshire Joint Services. In addition, the West Yorkshire Combined Authority provides the Metro transport service, amongst other things. Policing is carried out throughout the county by West Yorkshire Police.

The Olympic Torch in WakefieldThe Olympic Torch in Wakefield Kirkgate, 25th June 2012.
'AFTER being lit by the rays of the sun in Athens, flown to the United Kingdom under the protective guard of footballer David Beckham and already been seen by millions of people on its route to London 2012 - the Olympic Torch arrives in Wakefield today [Monday, 25th June 2012]'. Extract from Wakefield Express. Photograph by J. S. Sargent.
Read more at: (Web site accessed 23rd October 2018.)

City of Wakefield Metropolitan District
City of Wakefield Metropolitan District

The Wakefield District is one of five metropolitan districts in West Yorkshire. It covers some 350 square km and includes the main population centres of Wakefield City, Ossett and Horbury in the north west; the Five Towns of Normanton, Castleford, Pontefract, Featherstone and Knottingley in the north east; and Hemsworth, South Elmsall, South Kirkby and Upton in the south east.

Wakefield & District Coat of Arms
Wakefield Metropolitan District
Coat of Arms

The Council was granted a new official Coat of Arms in 1990, designed by the York Herald of Arms and approved by Warrant of the Earl Marshall, the Sovereign's Lieutenant in matters armorial.

The Coat of Arms is for the District, and replaces the one of the former City of Wakefield Council, which the Authority had used up to that time since the re-organisation of local government in 1974. It is used in connection with civic matters and is on the Mayoral Chains of Office.

The Shield consists of many divisions, which fit closely together to make a unified design. The black diamonds allude to coal as a dominant factor in addition to which there are many other activities symbolised by the gold coloured divisions and also representing the wealth, both moral and material, of the area.

Against this background, mural crowns signify that Wakefield is the centre of public administration for the whole area. The castellation of the crowns may also allude to the many well-known castles in the District. The historic ''Fleur-de-lys' arms of the former City of Wakefield are included on the shield. The Crest shows an eagle which is reguardant, i.e. on the alert, with a chain around its body relating to the engineering aspect of the area, and holding a miner's axe. The undersides of the wings are lozengy Or and Vert in reference to the wealth produced by new ideas and experiment in many fields of endeavour.

The Crest stands upon and forms the top of, one of the earliest forms of Helm representing Local Government Authorities. The Supporters comprise to the dexter (viewer's left) a dray horse with pack saddle and harness alluding not only to the country areas, but also historically to its excellent means of communication; and to the sinister (viewer's right) a golden eagle in reference to the Roman aspects of the area, especially Castleford. Beneath the Supporters is a compartment consisting of a grassy mount of field (as a pun on Wakefield) upon which thirteen golden acorns represent the thirteen areas brought together to form the new District. At the foot of the Coat of Arms is a scroll incorporating the motto "Persevere and Prosper".

(Source: Wakefield Metropolitan District Council).

The Rhubarb Triangle

Wakefield is part of the Wakefield-Leeds-Morley rhubarb-growing triangle and the plant has been an important part of the local economy for over 150 years.

Click to enlarge

Coca-Cola European Partners

The Wakefield plant was established in 1989 and employs 450 employees. It is the largest soft drinks plant by volume in Europe, manufacturing and distributing in excess of 100 million cases per annum. The plant can produce 6,000 cans of soft drink every minute - that's 100 per second. It can also produce up to 2,200 PET* bottles every minute.

Thesite buildings cover an area the size of 16 football pitches. Since 2007, the company has invested over £100 million to make Wakefield one of the fastest producers of soft drinks in the world. Since 2006 the plant's water consumption ratio has been reduced by fifty per cent.

Wakefield has the capability to produce 1 billion litres of finished product per year.

*PET stands for Polyethylene Terephthalate, the plastic we use to make our bottles.

Information (modified) extracted from the Coca-Cola European Partners web site 29th August 2018.

 Visit the Bookshelf.

© John S. Sargent, 1997 - 2021.  All rights reserved.  
• About this site  • Contact  

City of Wakefield